Back on the Wagon

This week has been a busy one, and the coming week will follow suit.  However, it has also been a very good one!

Aside from the normal work hustle and bustle, I started hitting my training regimen pretty heavily again.  I managed to work in Body Pump classes on Monday evening and Thursday during my lunch break.  I’m planning to run 4 times each week while I’m training this spring, so I did track work on Tuesday, a “tempo” run on  Thursday, an 8 mile trail race (as a training run) on Saturday, and an easy 3 miler on Sunday.  I also managed to get in a 30 minute CX Worx class which one of the local YMCAs has just recently started offering on Sunday afternoons. If a gym you belong to offers this class, take it! It is no joke!

In other news, I always start a new year with a focus on purging myself a bit from the junk I allow myself to eat around the holidays.  I don’t like to limit myself too much, but I always find it important to refocus and spend a couple of weeks concentrating on the type of food I’m eating.  I have definitely been very veggie heavy this week.  I typically eat an egg and a piece of turkey bacon each morning with half a grapefruit. Here is what the rest of my weekday meals looked like:

Monday lunch – Leftover Marsala Glazed Winter Vegetables
Monday dinner – Chicken with Brussels Sprouts and Mustard Sauce
Tuesday lunch – Roasted Cabbage Soup
Tuesday dinner – Sweet Potato and Lentil Chili
Wednesday lunch – Leftover Marsala Glazed Winter Vegetables
Wednesday dinner –  Leftover Chicken with Brussels Sprouts and Mustard Sauce
Thursday lunch – Sweet Potato and Lentil Chili
Thursday dinner – Catered meal at the Greensboro Race Series banquet
Friday lunch – Fish tacos at Crafted (more about this place to come)
Friday dinner – Pork Vindaloo with Brown Basmati Rice

I’m a bit more relaxed with my eating practices on the weekend, so after our race Saturday we had salads at Chipotle and went for burgers in Durham on Saturday night before we went to a concert (more on Dain’s Place later this week). On Sunday, Nathan went and picked up sandwiches and coffee for us from Starbucks.  He surprised me by getting them to fix mine with a French Press.  If you didn’t know that Starbucks did this, you aren’t alone.  We found out about it fairly recently.  I don’t get it that way all the time, but this was a great treat!  We had to do some shopping on Sunday afternoon, so lunch was Pita Delite.  But, for dinner, we took what is a rare opportunity this time of year to get in the kitchen together to make Tuscan Baked Chicken and Beans while we sipped on a couple of those beers that were leftover from our New Years’ party.

It was a great, but busy week.  Nathan has a recital on Tuesday of this week, so we will be in for more of the same for the next seven days.  Here is hoping it moves along just as smoothly!

1 thought on “Back on the Wagon

  1. Pingback: When Things Don’t Go According to Plan… | Living the Katie Way

Leave a comment